What meat to eat: OR how I FINALLY got over my vegan dilemma

I spent a lot of energy HATING the industrialized meat system.

I HATED it so much that I refused to eat any meat or meat products at all.

I HATED it so much that I criticized others who ate meat and disregarded my own nutritional needs.

So I protested! With a lot of processed granola! And Soy milk! And a big BLOATED belly! (Need digestive help? Click here!)

8237346511_2a7d429967_c

Until one day, I felt ill enough to think outside the CAFO (Concentrated Animal Feeding Operation) and searched for a better option.

And what I found was a world of compassionate farmers creating a better food system.  Welcome to the world of local, organic animal farms!

panoramic_farm_by_bjamison-d342g2f

For me, it all started to make sense.  After much thought, I decided I wasn’t personally against the act of eating animal flesh and products, but I was against the horrible system that is common in our society.  As I began to consume more local and organic meat products, I felt more connected to the animal, respected its life and wanted to make the most out of the offering.  This inspired me to make bone broth, cook organs meats, and waste nothing.

At this time, I started to build my body back up and began the beautiful adventure of working on organic farms across the country including Breakneck Acres, Rootstown Organic Farm, Homeadow Song Farm, and Sleeping Frog Farms.  Not only did I get to work with the animals, I began to understand their great importance on a diverse, organic farm.

I never took that much time to think about the factory my processed faux meat patty had come from and exactly how it was transported to my dinner plate.

Soja_texturiert

I commonly get asked what the best way to source meat is.  Below are some tips that I use to find healthy, humane sources wherever I am.

How to Choose Humane Meat, Beginners Tips:

  • Go to the farmer’s market and talk directly with the farmer.  Be a judge of character and ask about the treatment and conditions that they use.  Talk to the market manager if you are unsure.  She should be knowledgable about each grower.
  • Head to your local food coop or health food store.  At the Kent Natural Food Coop in Kent, Ohio, they visit and research the farm before considering to feature their products.
  • Ask around.  Talk to your health-conscious and local food-supporting friends, they may have connections.
  • Look for a Weston A Price chapter in your area.  You can search here under your state.
  • Check on Local Harvest for farms in your region.
  • Head to a quality grocery store and buy Certified Organic meats, eggs, and cheeses.

In a perfect world, we would all have chickens scratching through our backyards supplying endless omelettes, a neighborhood dairy cow for all the raw cream we need, and a few pigs to help with our food scraps and provide holiday ham.   At least that is my farm-y tale.  Until then, support local, grow what you can, and eat with gratitude.

Leave a comment